Roasted Pears with Espresso Mascarpone Cream by Allison

I’ve been wanting to experiment with desserts without tons of carbs and loads of refined sugar……let me tell you, this recipe is simply delicious. I don’t know where these roasted pears with espresso mascarpone cream have been all my life but I’m so glad they are in my life now. I made this recipe on Friday and adapted it Sunday morning for brunch guests and dinner guests and boy oh boy did it turn out delicious. It is light, creamy, and rich in all the right ways. You have to try this and soon:)

Ingredients:

for the pears:

4-5 pears – sliced in half lengthwise and cored

1/3 cup spiced rum

4 Tbsp. water for the base of the pan

for the cream:

1 cup whipping cream

1 vanilla bean scraped or 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup mascarpone

1/4 cup powdered sugar

3 Tbsp. chilled espresso

for the top:

cocoa powder for dusting

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius. I sliced the pears in half lengthwise and cored them. I placed them on a roasting pan covered in foil cut side up with a few tablespoons of water in the bottom of the pan. After about 15 minutes I spooned spiced rum over the flesh of the pear and again 20 minutes later. Pears are finished when cooked through, you can test them by inserting a fork. They should be soft to the touch. Let pears cool completely, set aside.

Using my food processor with the whisk attachment, I whipped up the whipping cream , added some powdered sugar for sweetness, chilled espresso and vanilla extract along with the mascarpone and spooned it over the cooled roasted pears. To finish the dessert off, I dusted the cream topped pears with cocoa powder. What a delicious combination. My friend said after tasting one bite of this dessert, “I want this for my next birthday ‘cake'”! It really is that good. You’re not missing the gluten in this dessert:)

Recipe adapted from:

Minimally Invasive: http://chimeraobscura.com/mi/thats-a-wrap/

Leave a Reply

