Fresh Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomatoes By Nikki

Fresh pasta + sun-dried tomatoes + garlic + olive oil = yummy!

This week I moved apartments. Moving is not fun because moving is always a lot of work. My new apartment is in the same neighborhood- thankfully I am only 3 blocks further from local Farmer’s Market. On Wednesday, despite the mountain of boxes looming and needing to be unpacked, I found myself procrastinating with a stroll to the market.

That is me paying for my fresh pasta!

I usually go straight for the dried fruit and nut vendor, but today I decided to roam the market, and I found fresh pasta! My purchase was Linguine- a wider noodle that is flatter that spaghetti! I already began thinking about how I would make something light and summery with this pasta as the base…

After picking up some of my favorite veggies, I made my way over to the fruit and nut vendor. They had sun-dried tomatoes, and I knew my past dish was complete! Because Wednesday was the Fourth of July (Independence Day), in the USA, I went out for burgers and beers that evening with friends.  It was our expat way of paying tribute and celebrating what would be a day of BBQ’s, beers and fireworks had we Americans been in the US with our friends and family this summer.

Today, despite the need to unpack and organize everything from the move, I needed only four things: a knife, a cutting board, a frying pan and a boiling pot! I searched through my boxes, found my tools, and whipped up a pasta dish that gave me the energy to finally make my new apartment start to look like a home!

Sun-Dried Tomato/Olive Oil Pasta

Bring water to a boil. If using fresh pasta, wait to cook until the saute is 2-3 minutes from finished…

Mince 1 clove of garlic

Slice 5 dried tomatoes into long strips

Chop the green part of one green onion

Heat frying pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Add garlic and tomatoes and saute for 5-8 minutes or until garlic begins to change color.

Cook pasta for 2-3 minutes, strain and rinse lightly. Add pasta to the frying pan with 1 tablespoon more of olive oil.

Toss pasta and saute together for 2 minutes… serve with green onion sprinkled on top and enjoy warm!

 

Leave a Reply

