Very Berry Baking! by Nikki

My Czech Basket…

Don’t you just love the season of summer? I do, and not only because I am a teacher and get the summer for a long holiday, but also because summer means I get to fill my Czech basket with such goodies as berries, apricots, and sweet corn! On Wednesday I woke up around 9:00- fairly late for me even during the summer holiday! My good friend Melissa called and said she was bringing over some perishables before she ventured off traveling for two weeks weeks. Before she headed off to the airport with her sister and dear friend, we walked to our local Farmer’s Market. She was going to stock up on dried strawberries to snack on during her train journey! My mission was to find blueberries.

blueberries are so colorful in muffin batter

The evening before, I had returned from The Hague, Netherlands where I spent a rainy weekend with two of my favorite people. It was nice to just spend time together chatting, relaxing, touring a cheese town and making rainy day muffins. Needless to say, I had muffins on my mind when I went to the market that next morning!

one of my favorite foods…

Blueberry muffins are one of my favorite foods. Last year, I found a recipe that I love from the blog the Smitten Kitchen. The muffins turn out fluffy and bursting with blueberries and there is just a hint of lemon zest. Perfect Blueberry Muffins Recipe

these blueberry beauties melt in your mouth

These muffins are best enjoyed warm with a generous pat of butter on the day they are made. And you can always share them with a friend like I did with EC! But these blueberry muffins are not all I have baked this week with my Farmer’s Market goodies… My cycling friend Anne and I are headed out on the road this week. I thought it would be a good idea to use the rest of my berries to bake Raspberry Almond Scones for our ride.

mmm… triangles of raspberry goodness!

Tea time is always better with fresh scones! So I will take a couple of these in my backpack for us to enjoy on our mid-morning tea stop. The rest, I will freeze for later consumption.

All you need is love… and a few other ingredients!

I used my favorite recipe for the scone base found on the blog Joy the Baker. I omitted the coconut, and substituted 3/4 cup raspberries for the chocolate chips listed in the recipe. Raspberries will make the dough sticky and wet so have up to 1/2 cup extra flour handy to mix in! Instead of using my circle pastry cutter, I just cut these scones into triangles with a knife. Depending on your oven they might need to bake shorter or longer than the time given in the original recipe.

I enjoy my scones with a hot cup of black tea with milk!

I hope you are enjoying your summer as well as your local farmer’s markets and gardens! – Nikki

 

Leave a Reply

