Emptying the Fridge Again – Garden Lasagna by Nikki

Garden Lasagna

This summer has been busy- very relaxing, but busy! In between traveling adventures, I visited the River Market again with my Czech basket, filling it up with fresh yellow and red tomatoes, basil, Swiss chard, and of course, fresh lasagne noodles. I get so excited when I visit the market and find a new vendor or variety of fresh, seasonal vegetables and fruit! On this particular sunny Saturday, I found red, Swiss chard. Knowing I would soon be traveling and needing to keep the fridge sort of empty, I still couldn’t resist purchasing the ingredients to make a summer version of lasagne.

summertime foods

The best part about this particular lasagne was sharing it with two friends who appreciated a hot meal before we all traveled to Croatia. As I have said before, I love cooking, and as a cook, I believe there is nothing more satisfying than sharing a meal with friends and loved ones.

mmm… fresh and tasty

Garden Lasagne

I modified a recipe by The Pioneer Woman

Note: I substituted the zucchini for red, Swiss chard, a yellow pepper for the red pepper, used a green onion instead of a yellow and also added fresh basil and parmesan cheese.

ingredients chopped and ready to go..

Saute the veggies in olive oil just until tender…

Simmer veggies with 1 can of whole, Italian tomatoes

Layer fresh noodles, ricotta mixture, and veggie mixture- top with parmesan cheese and fresh basil!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

