Oh, so good Oatmeal… by Nikki

Baked Apple + Oatmeal + empty jar = healthy, breakfast on-the-go!

Remember those baked apples I shared in my last post? Well, they have been a repeat experience in my home over the past couple weeks. I have been baking 3-4 apples on Sunday morning and using them throughout the week. I got creative this week and added half of a leftover apple to refrigerator Oatmeal. No, this is not a joke! I have been getting my oatmeal ready in the evening and allowing it to sit in soy milk, in a jar, overnight in the fridge. This allows the dry oats to soften overnight but without becoming too mushy! I take the oatmeal to work, warm it in a small bowl and enjoy it with my morning coffee. Now this is the moment that I humble myself and extend gratitude to my friend E who introduced me to the concept of “overnight oats!” This breakfast gives me loads of energy to make the most of my mornings with 5 and 6 year old learners… and bonus, it keeps my stomach full until lunchtime! Try it!

mmm…

Refrigerator Oatmeal

Below are the ingredients I used- but this breakfast allows you flexibility and creative license for your own taste buds!

Ingredients: 3/4 to 1 cup oatmeal (dry), 1/2 cup mixed dried fruit and raw almonds, 1/2 to 1 cup milk. Fresh fruit optional such as peaches, blueberries or apples!

1. Find a clean, empty jar (or tupperware that doesn’t leak). I use an old jam jar…

Oats go first…

2. Measure out 3/4 cup to 1 cup dry oatmeal flakes and put into the bottom of the jar…

My 2nd layer: plump, golden raisins and raw almonds

3. Next your 1/2 cup mixed dried fruit and nuts (or seeds) go into the jar on top of the oatmeal! There are so many combinations you can create… I like this recipe with dried cranberries and pumpkin seeds or dried apricots and cashews or almonds!

My 3rd layer: baked apples with cinnamon yes please!

4. The final layer is fresh, frozen, or even baked fruit.  I LOVE fresh blueberries and the way they get hot and juicy when baked in the oatmeal! But this week, I used half of one of the baked apple I made over the weekend. And sometimes, I enjoy skipping the fruit layer overnight but adding half a banana after I heat the oatmeal in the morning… the possibilities feel endless!

Let’s get soaked…

5. Once your jar is brimming with goodness, you need to pour your milk into the mix. (Having a sensitivity to cow’s milk, I prefer to use soy milk). Depending on how many oats you measured, you will need more or less milk! After about 45 seconds, when the milk settles, I make sure the liquid is covering the oats… that is important for tender but non-mushy oats!

Finally… a little sweet stuff!

6. The final ingredients are a dash or two of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of maple syrup, and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Then screw on the lid- tight!

Shake, Shake, Shake…

 

…shake, shake, shake.. shake that oatmeal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Healthy grab-and-go

7. After giving the jar a good shake (about 30 seconds) put in the fridge and let sit in fridge overnight!

When ready to eat, transfer to a microwaveable bowl and heat for 3-5 minutes. Enjoy!

Oatmeal with Baked Apples, Golden Raisins, and Almonds

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

