Mushroom, Mozzarella and Cranberry Salad by Allison

The crisp fall air hit my face as I opened the door to leave my apartment building Saturday morning. Coffee was calling my name. Not just any coffee though, gourmet coffee from my favorite coffee shop just down the street at Muj Salek Kavy. A cappuccino from this coffee shop is like no other, it is dark and sultry like rich chocolate velvet and starts the weekend off right. My taste buds were awakened upon the first sip of my heavenly beverage and I started to make a list of what I wanted to purchase at the Karlin farmers’ market in my iPhone. I typed a few items into a note and then deleted it. Fresh herbs, well yes most definitely; eggs, for sure; fruit, yes please; veggies abound. A list was not needed after all as I just wanted to see what struck me and inspired me at the market. A stroll down Krizikova while soaking up some vitamin D from the sun while reflecting back on the week and looking forward to the days ahead made me stop and appreciate the moment. As I approached the market, I watched as many people took delight in carrying their baskets full of fresh produce or pushing their child in a stroller and talking to vendors and purchasing local goods. As I entered the market, I walked around and spotted a small wooden stand overflowing with mushrooms.

I came across this mushroom vendor and for those of you who live in the Czech Republic, you know it is mushroom season and may have already been mushroom hunting yourselves. I’ve had the adventure of mushroom hunting with my friend B before and we got a few mushrooms here and there which was really fun, but I’d like to go again and really hit the jackpot! This vendor was was so kind and helpful. I was asking him whether the large mushrooms were the best for soup, salad or sauces and a tall, kind gentleman who was sitting to the side popped up and translated everything the vendor was saying. “Just eat them raw. You will get the most vitamins and nutrients from slicing these and putting them in a salad.”

So I placed several handfuls of large mushrooms below in a bag and handed them over to the mushroom vendor. I handed him the money and the gentleman that translated for me earlier said, “Next week, he will have different mushrooms and they will be really good for soup!”. I said, “I’ll be back!” and thanked him for his kindness and help.

After I saw this green leaf lettuce, I knew it had to come home with me for the mushroom salad as it was crisp and buttery.

Mushroom, Mozzarella and Cranberry Salad

Ingredients

Green leaf lettuce

fresh mushrooms, sliced

dried cranberries

fresh mozzarella cheese slices

roasted beets, sliced

roasted almonds (optional)

Dressing:

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tsp olive oil

I tsp apple cider

a few drops of honey

salt and pepper to taste

Combine and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

