Kale Seaweed Salad with Toasted Sesame Oil by Nikki

Seaweed + purple Kale + Toasted Sesame oil

I have a feeling that some people are going to skip this post… probably because seaweed often turns peoples taste buds away! However, the salty taste of the seaweed mixed with the crunchy, steamed kale leaves is one of my favorite health food combinations. Seaweed is a low calorie, protein rich sea vegetable that allows you to feel full. It has many good health properties including being rich in iron, Vitamins A and C and it is one of the few vegetables that naturally maintains Vitamin B-12.

Toasted Sesame oil makes this purple kale salad shiny…

This weekend I had a soccer tournament at school. Our two teams of Middle School girls played their hearts out, winning or tieing all their games! This is a huge improvement over last year and they were as proud of themselves as I was of them. I left my house a few minutes early that morning so that I could take a stroll through the Dejvicka Farmers market before I had to catch the bus. I have been wanting to visit this market for a few weeks, and after my ten minutes strolling and enjoying the cool, Autumn morning, I have to say I am looking forward to finding myself here again soon. But because I was headed to school all day, the only thing I bought on this particular day was a fluffy, apricot jam doughnut- hey, it was Saturday and I was on my way to school!

mmm… Kale

Although I may not have made it to the market myself this weekend, I did send an emergency message to EC. I heard there was finally Kale at the market by the river. So I asked EC if she would pick some up for me if she happened to find herself at the market that morning. Tonight, while enjoying many forks full of kale/seaweed salad, I am grateful for my friend EC and her willingness to help out my post and search out Kale at the market… Thanks EC- this forks’ for you

Kale and Seaweed Salad with Toasted Sesame Oil

Ingredients: 1 bunch of kale (any color), 2 small carrots, 1 handful of dried seaweed, 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, 1 teaspoon tamari (or soy sauce)

1. Cut kale leaves off stalks and chop into small strips

2. Steam kale just until tender… 2-3 minutes after the water gets to a boil!

3. Transfer to a bowl and place in the fridge for 30 minutes.

4. While the kale is cooling, soak the seaweed in a bowl of water for 30 minutes and grate the carrots.

5. Combine all vegetables, oil, and tamari in a big bowl and mix well.

6. Enjoy cold as a side salad with fish, chicken or a marinated tofu!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

