Gluten-Free Pear-licious Crumble by Allison

I couldn’t resist these pears at the market. Their two-tone skin and crisp flesh made them a perfect for snacking on throughout the week as well as adding them to yogurt or on top of a salad. I had a few left at the end of the week and was craving a fall dessert. I put together my first gluten-free crumble and it turned out marvelous. I haven’t been able to put my hands on certified gluten-free oats here in the Czech Republic so instead I used gluten-free cereal biscuits from Schar and crushed them up to add to the texture.

These pears are beautiful, in fact, I could have done a still-life painting if I thought I could do their beauty justice.

So instead, I cleaned them, cored them and sliced the pears to make a mean crumble.

I thinly sliced the butter I had and added it to the top instead of cutting it into the dry mixture. It looks like quite a lot but in actuality it is almost 1/2 of what a normal crumble has in it. 

Into the oven for 4o minutes and the aromas of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves wafted through my apartment. As I sat near the window, I heard the leaves rustle in the wind and admired the colors of autumn. Soon the leaves will gone, but until then, I will enjoy my favorite season and so should you! Make this pear-licious crumble and savor the flavors of fall!

Gluten-free Pear-licious Crumble by Allison

Ingredients

3-4 crisp pears, cored and sliced

3/4 cup gluten-free flour (I used Marks and Spencers brand)

1/3 cup natural cane sugar

1/2 cup toasted almonds, chopped

2 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (or equal parts of cinnamon, ground ginger, ground cloves, allspice and nutmeg)

4 gluten-free schar cereal biscuits, crushed

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup butter, sliced

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 175 degrees Celsius. Fill a pie pan with sliced pears

Mix the gluten-free flour, cane sugar, spices, almonds, crushed biscuits and salt in a bowl and combine. Sprinkle over the sliced pears and add sliced pats of butter on top.

Bake for 30-40 minutes depending on desired texture of fruit when cooked. Enjoy warm crumble with friends on a fall evening!

Leave a Reply

