The Breakfast Battles by L

Zucchinis at the Andel Farmer’s Market in Prague 5

I’ve only been a parent for 14 months, but I quickly discovered that nothing, NOTHING remains constant for too long when it comes to raising a baby. Actually, I should now be using the word toddler. Once I thought I got the whole “Eat, Sleep, Play” routine down, my two toddlers go ahead and twist the whole game around.

Breakfast time is where our current struggle lies. When my daughters first began “eating” solids, they sloppily, but happily, took their baby cereal first thing in the morning. Lately, one of the girls has begun to refuse her daily bowl of porridge. Her favorite food to break her fast is plain ol’ natural yoghurt. She doesn’t seem to tire of it, but I do. As a new mother, it concerns me that yoghurt is all she will consume. Therefore, I went on a search for new breakfast ideas that might entice her appetite and keep the door open for variety.

One of the things I didn’t want to do is trade her natural yogurt for something sweet and unhealthy. I looked to my trusty and much-loved cookbook, The Laurel’s Kitchen for help, but none of the recipes met my needs. So, I turned to their other book, The Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book and that was where I found my pot of gold: Zucchini Cheese Muffins.

This was a meal in one. A savory muffin made with whole wheat, oats, a veggie and protein. Then there was the added plus of NO sugar. It seemed like the perfect breakfast food to bake. Now, I don’t want you to think I’m the sugar police! My daughters do enjoy a cookie here and there for a snack. However, my conscience feels better knowing that the food they eat is packed with sensible nutrients and the right kind of calories.

This is quick and easy to prepare. These days, having hassle free recipes on hand is essentially important for maintaining a household with a set of toddlers. It only took one bowl to mix the ingredients together and very little preparation was needed.

Is your muffin bigger than mine?

So, what did my daughters think? Well, Ms. Picky Eater wouldn’t let her muffin go after she got her hands on it! We even had to wrestle the wrapper out of her hand. I read that as a good sign.

Can you guess who Ms.Picky Eater is?

Zucchini Cheese Muffins (adapted from The Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book)

As I was trying to photograph the muffins…

2 tablespoons minced onions

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 egg, slightly beaten

1/2 cup oat flakes

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon grated mix of Swiss, Cheddar and Parmesan cheese (to save time, buy the pre-grated packs)

1 1/2 cups grated zucchini

2/3 cup of water

1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

pinch of nutmeg (optional)

…they kept disappearing!

Pre heat oven to 375/190 degrees

Prepare your muffin tin.

Saute the onions in the oil.

In a large bowl, add the egg, cooked onions with the oil and the oats.

Mix.

Then add the cheese, zucchini and water. Stir.

Add the flour, salt, baking powder and nutmeg.

Stir until well mixed.

Pour a few spoonfuls of the batter into each muffin wrapper.

Top with remaining pieces of cheese.

It should be enough for 12 muffins.

Bake for 20-30 minutes.

Cool before serving.

Your muffin will taste even more delicious if you find an adorable little toddler to share one with!

Leave a Reply

