Autumn Lovin’ from the Oven by Nikki

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms w/Feta

For some reason, this meal reminds me of Italy.. or rather- Italian food! It is hearty, best served warm, and full of flavor from a variety of Italian spices! I love mushrooms, and lucky for any mushroom lovers in Prague, it just so happens to be Czech Mushroom hunting season. Last year while I was visiting my Granny in New Zealand, she gave me a recipe for Hungarian Mushroom soup… I would love to try this with some fresh Czech mushrooms, but I am not a mushroom picking expert. So, I will be buying them this weekend at my local farmers market instead!

thick slices of Feta cheese – yum!

But what I CAN do is tell the difference between a good dinner and a not so good dinner. Stuffed mushrooms with zucchini, red and yellow peppers, green onion, and chopped mushroom stems- this is a great dinner! It was my evening to host Game Night this month. After deciding on homemade Bolognese and pasta for my game-loving freinds, I decided to make something different for my 2 vegetarian friends. Stuffed Portobello mushrooms- tis the season!. These type of mushrooms are very “meaty” which in vegetarian language (I assume) means thick! They hold the vegetable ingredients safe and sound until it is time to move it to your plate and gobble it down! And with a little oil, spices, and baking in their own juices the mushroom stays firm but not too tough… If you are a mushroom lover you should give this a try- and vegetarian or carnivore, I encourage you to be creative with your fillings! Enjoy!

Autumn Lovin’ from the Oven

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

(serves 2-4)

Ingredients: 4-8 large, firm, fresh Portobello mushrooms, olive oil, dried Spices: oregano, thyme, basil, paprika, garlic powder, ground pepper.

Fillings: be creative! (I used red and yellow bell pepper, zucchini, green onion, and 3 of the mushroom stems)

Toppings: your preferred CHEESE! (I used Feta)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C or 350 degrees F

Directions:

1. Prepare filling by dicing veggies or browning meat, etc.

2. Pull stems out of mushrooms and chop as many as desired to add to your filling.

3. Add a small drizzle of olive oil to a baking pan and place mushrooms with the inside facing up- like little bowls!

4. Place in oven for ten minutes prior to filling…

5. Saute veggies in olive oil and desired amount of spices- just until tender.

6. Fill mushrooms and bake for another 10-15 minutes… or until mushrooms begin to shrink and become tender.

7. Top with cheese and serve warm preferably with a side salad

8. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

