Eggless Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Scones by Nikki

freshly canned pumpkin

Today is November 23 and it is American Thanksgiving Day- my favorite holiday. Many people ask why it is my favorite and my response is the same- it is one day to truly celebrate gratefulness. For me, Thanksgiving has always been a celebration of family, friendship, food and of course, the life blessings I have received and am currently thankful for. It is the time of year when I begin to look back at the current year, reflect on the ups and downs, the accomplishments, the failures and begin to let next year’s goals take shape… yes, I am that goal setting type person!

butter and flour

So much about November has to do with pumpkins… pumpkin pie, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cake or muffins, pumpkin patches, pumpkin lattes, pumpkin stuffed shells and recently, warm pumpkin dip! As November soon comes to a close and December and the winter celebrations begin, I am featuring one more pumpkin based recipe on The Prague Basket!

pumpkin pie spiced puree and cream

My classroom of 16 Kindergarten children are currently inquiring about bread, where it comes from and how a bakery works as a team to create breads of all kinds. I happen to have a child in my classroom with a severe allergy to eggs. Baking without eggs is fairly new to me, but I have been experimenting with eggless baking to safely and authentically guide the learners through the baking experience.

These scones are so easy to put together and not too terrible for your waistline. Because I made them for my breakfast club friends, I used chocolate chips, but I imagine they would be tasty with dried cranberries, nuts or seeds, or possibly a cinnamon glaze for the top! Today, on American Thanksgiving, I am not only thankful for my family and friends but also for the opportunity to learn and explore a new side of baking- NO egg style!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Scones

Ingredients:

1 cup (120 grams) whole-wheat flour
1 cup (125 grams) all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon (15 grams) baking powder, preferably aluminum-free

1/4 cup (50 grams) sugar
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
6 tablespoons (85 grams) unsalted butter, chilled
1/2 cup (91 grams) chocolate chips (or dried cranberries)
3/4 cup (190 grams) pumpkin puree (flavored with pumpkin pie spice to taste)
1/3 cup (80 ml) heavy cream

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F / 220C degrees.

Line a baking sheet with parchment/wax baking paper.

In a bowl, whisk flours, baking powder, sugar, and salt together.

Add butter and mix together initially with a wooden spoon.

Switch to using your hands and mix until the “dough” begins to look shaggy!

Using a spatula, add the pumpkin puree and cream and fold into the dough.

Note: Fresh pumpkin puree will add more moisture than canned puree. You will most likely need a bit more flour to keep the dough from becoming too sticky… I used about 1/4-1/2 cup extra!

mmm… scone dough

When the dough comes together, place onto a lightly floured surface.

Roll or flatten with hands into a circle about 1 inch (2.5 cm) thick.

I generally use my hands to flatten the dough!

ready to cut

I used a circular pastry cutter to make circle scones…

if you prefer, you can flatten dough into a rounded rectangle and cut them into triangles or small squares with a knife.

scones, scones, scones

For a finishing touch, I paint a little cream on the top of each scone and sprinkle with just a hint of golden sugar!

Place scones on the baking sheet and bake about 12-15 minutes depending on size and thickness.

Enjoy!

Adapted from the Whole-Wheat Raspberry Ricotta Scone recipe in The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman.

Leave a Reply

