Gluten-Free French Onion Soup by Allison

Bubbly cheese covered bread on top of piping hot French onion soup, who wouldn’t want that meal for a great lunch out or even for dinner? I haven’t had French onion soup in over 2 years since I found out my about having Celiacs disease. It is pretty ironic that I grew up on a wheat farm where my Dad raised crops of wheat and barley for a large part of my life. Wheat, barley and rye or any form of them is an absolute  “no-no” for someone with Celiacs disease.  I even know the unforgettable scent of wheat when it turns that golden yellow right before harvest, that almost sweet and whole grain smell is very familiar. I can almost smell it right now if I transport myself back to the front porch of my parents’ house at the end of June or beginning of July (depending on the year) as the wheat fields ripen from a few hundred yards away. Believe me, I’m thankful that I don’t eat those grains as they make me sick and now I feel so much better overall. But there are some things I’ve certainly missed and French onion soup was one of them. No longer am I missing it though as I’m in creation mode and feel challenged to make an old favorite “gluten-free”.
onion

IMG_2675

I know mine is missing bubbly cheese on gluten-free bread but I think I need some new Polish pottery to make this soup even better. Soup bowls with a handle so you can place the bowl right in the oven to get the full affect of what is supposed to be traditional French onion soup. That’s it, it is officially added to the next shopping list I make for Polish pottery!

So here goes:

Gluten-Free French Onion Soup by Allison

Ingredients

8 onions, peeled and quartered

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 1/2 cups dry white wine

6 cups gluten-free vegetable or beef broth (I found mine at DM on Vodičkova here in Prague by the brand name ALNATURA)

2 fresh rosemary springs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 210 degrees C and arrange quartered onions on pan and brush with olive oil. Roast for 45 minutes to an hour until soft and partially caramelized. Roughly chop or use kitchen scissors to cut. Add onions to a large saucepan with wine and cook down until the wine evaporates. Add the broth and the rosemary and cook until flavors combine 15-20 minutes over medium-low heat. Serve with my gluten-free cornbread on top if you’d like  as well! Would be yummy!!! Enjoy!

One response

  1. I love the look of this! And I love how you describe your fathers farm..! I can almost see it in my mind 🙂 I will definitely try this soup, I can’t wait! (and I have the perfect bowls too!)

    -Kristine

Leave a Reply

