Baked Doughnuts and Childhood memories! By Nikki

Nothing like a Frosted Chocolate Donut and a cup of tea...

Nothing like a Frosted Chocolate Donut and a cup of tea…

This week, I ordered my dairy products from a local farmer. Buttermilk, butter, yogurt, cheese and eggs… I am a happy woman to have these fresh, local dairy products in the middle of winter! February is our baking month at the Prague Basket and I am excited to share a few new recipes with you all.

Fresh dairy from the farm...

Fresh dairy from the farm…

When I was a young kid, our family went to church on Sunday mornings. We were regulars and eventually members of a church community for a very long time. I remember occasionally, we would stop at the local market for a doughnut on the way to church… doughnuts and coffee are a staple in many Sunday morning situations from church gatherings, to family brunches, to simply meeting at the local coffee shop for a sweet morning treat. When I was younger, I often chose between the regular, fluffy doughnut with the fake chocolate icing and sprinkles or cake doughnut covered with white powdered sugar. As I got older my taste buds graduated to prefer simple chocolate cake donuts or an apple fritter. If you asked me now, I would say my favorite doughnut is a maple bar- I LOVE a good maple flavored frosting- how adult of me, right!?

As a very healthy eater, I avoid doughnuts because they are usually fried in oil before they are covered in sugar or icing and often topped with sprinkles or nuts! But I recently came across a recipe for baked doughnuts… a doughnut recipe that uses no oil for frying- yes please! Upon my discovery, there was of course no hesitation to use my new doughnut pan! (By the way, everyone should own a doughnut pan- they are fun to use and this was the easiest recipe to follow.) And it uses three of my favorite baking ingredients: buttermilk, butter, and of course, chocolate!

Toasted Coconut Flakes

Toasted Coconut Flakes

Instead of topping my donuts with sprinkles I enjoyed the flavor of the toasted coconut flakes… they were a compliment to the strong, chocolatey flavor of the cake donuts. Tonight, as I sat in my living room with a cup of tea and a fresh, baked doughnut on my plate, I was reminded of Doughnut Sundays and simple childhood memories… happy nostalgia…

 

yummy

yummy

Dark Chocolate Cake Doughnuts

recipe adapted from Shutterbean.com

doughnut ingredients:

  • 1 cup all- purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

topping ingredients:

  • 1 cup toasted coconut flakes
  • 2  cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2-3 tablespoons milk

Heat oven to 325 F or 180 C. Coat doughnut pan with non-stick cooking spray or butter! In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. In a small bowl, whisk buttermilk, sugar, egg, butter and vanilla until smooth. Add milk mixture to flour mixture; whisk until blended & smooth.

Spoon batter into a large resealable plastic bag. Cut off the corner and squeeze batter into prepared doughnut pan about 2/3 full. Bake for 13 minutes, until doughnuts spring back when lightly pressed. Cool in the pan on baking rack for 3 minutes, then carefully turn out directly onto the rack to cool.

In a small bowl, combine confectioners’ sugar and with 2 tablespoons milk and stir until consistency is thick & glazey. If the consistency is too thin, add more sugar. If too thick add a bit more milk.

Dip cooled doughnuts into bowl and allow excess frosting to drip back into bowl. Transfer to rack. Top with coconut immediately. Allow 5 minutes for the toppings to set!

Best when eaten warm with tea or coffee… enjoy!

 

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

