Stay Calm and Don’t Lose Your Cookies by L

I’m not exactly sure where I got this recipe from, but it will forever hold a nostalgic spot in my recipe repertoire. The day before my scheduled C-section, I baked dozens and dozens of these chewy chocolate chip cookies. My mom and I thought it would be a good idea to have some “Thank you” treats for the nurses and staff at the maternity ward.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Well, the cookies didn’t last long. Not only because they are deliciously good, but because in the excitement of my twin daughters’ births, my mom couldn’t control her emotions. I can still remember the very moment when the cookies suddenly disappeared. Laying on the gurney, freshly stitched up, I waited for the nurses to present my daughters to me. As one of the operating nurses placed a daughter in each of my arms, I noticed another nurse running down the hall with a large plastic tub filled with the chewy chocolate chip cookies we had baked.

My attention was quickly drawn back to my daughters as my doctor started to discuss breast-feeding. As I attempted to do so, the doors at the end of the hallway quickly swung open and there was that same nurse I just saw shuffling down the hall. She rushed towards us and handed back an empty plastic container to my mother. All I could think was “Hey, what happened to the cookies?”

Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside!

Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside!

However, there was no time for me to bring that up. My daughters were taken to the nursery while I got whisked away to the Intensive Care Unit. No fun. Fortunately, my amazing doctor, pulled some strings and my dear husband was able to visit me for a few minutes. After we shared some tender words about the miracle that just came into our lives, the topic quickly turned to the cookies.

“Your mom gave all the cookies away,” daddy said in a surprised manner, “She just gave them all away.”

“I guess she was too excited. Someone definitely got carried away,” I answered with a laugh, followed by a moan as I grasped my stitched up abdomen. “Ouch, didn’t know how much laughing would hurt. Could you please pick something else up?”

Being the dear sweet husband that he is, nodded his head and then showed me a photo on his iPhone. Bundled up and sharing a bassinet, were my two beautiful newborns sound asleep in the nursery.

Early next morning, I was already back in the maternity ward with my daughters, husband and mom.

“Ma,” I called, “Why’d you give all our cookies away? Those were for the nurses in this ward. Now, we don’t have anything to share and we’ll be here awhile.”

She shrugged her shoulders and frowned. “Just get them some chocolate,” was her response.

We did buy some chocolates and got to know the nursing and housekeeping staff very well over our 9 day stay in the maternity ward. I would have liked to thank them for all their help with some of these home-made chocolate chip cookies, but the chocolates did seem to satisfy everyone’s taste buds. The day of my daughters’ births is a moment I’ll never forget, but the memory of my mother’s funny reaction to their arrival will also never escape my mind.

Overcome with intense joy and happiness, she quickly lost all her cookies.

P2020339

You won’t be able to just have one!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups chocolate chips

Pre heat oven to 350 F/180C degrees

Whisk flour and baking soda in a small bowl.

In another bowl, cream butter and both sugars.

Then add salt, vanilla and eggs on low-speed.

Beat for one more minute.

Then fold in the flour, followed by the chocolate chips.

Scoop about a tablespoon of cookie batter on a well-greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Enjoy!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

