I Love Pancakes! By Nikki

mmm... delicious!

mmm… delicious!

Do you see that photo? That is a pancake… some people would call that a Dutch Baby and others call it a German Pancake… I’d say that is one heck of a pancake and very tasty. I love pancakes of all types- big flap jacks, little silver dollars, buttermilk or blueberry. When it comes to pancakes there are endless possibilities! This oven baked pancake is not just any pancake; to me this represents comfort, love and memories of childhood.

The first memory I have of tasting this sweet, fluffy pancake brings to mind my brother, D. Like his older sister (that’s me!) he has many great qualities, varied interests, and he can bake a thing or two! I don’t remember where he learned to bake this particular pancake, but he was the German Pancake master! He always used mom’s loaf pan, and when he pulled the pan out from the oven, the fluffy sides would fold into one another across the middle of the pancake… then collapse into any remnants of the pool of butter used to grease the pan. My younger brother had the magic touch when it came to making this sweet and buttery pancake- and he always presented it sprinkled with a little (actually, a LOT!) of powdered sugar on top!

yummy goodness

yummy goodness

I recently ordered Spaldova  or spelt flour with my local dairy order. I used it in this pancake along with my bio butter and I swear it makes a difference in the taste. It was almost a little nutty! This is an easy, one dish recipe that whips up quickly, and it always tastes great. I think I might enjoy it best in my pajamas with a mug of Earl Grey tea and the sunshine pouring through the windows… or with a loved one! However you serve it, I hope you enjoy it!

German Pancake A.K.A Dutch Baby

German Pancake A.K.A Dutch Baby

Oven Pancake

(This is often referred to as a Dutch Baby, German Pancake or a Bismarck in many cook books and food blogs!)

Ingredients:

3 eggs (at room temperature), 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup flour, 7 tsp butter, 1/8 tsp vanilla extract, 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Note: You can also enjoy this pancake with warm maple syrup, flavored syrups, fruit compotes… try it savory by omitting the vanilla and cinnamon from batter and serve with savory toppings… like sauteed mushrooms and onions- yum!

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (200 degrees C)
  2. Beat eggs until frothy
  3. Add milk, flour, vanilla, and cinnamon
  4. Beat together (by hand) about 5 mins. Batter will be thin and frothy.
  5. Choose your baking dish! (I use a pie plate, my brother uses a loaf pan)
  6. Place the dish- EMPTY-  into the oven for 3-5 minutes.
  7. After warming baking dish, take out of oven and melt butter directly into the pan.
  8. Pour in batter and bake for 20-25 minutes. Pancake will be fluffy and golden at edges when ready…
  9. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and eat hot out of the oven!
  10. Enjoy… maybe even with a loved one!

P.S I love you little brother!

One response

Leave a Reply

