It’s Smoothie Time! By Nikki

smoothie ingredients

smoothie ingredients

I think Spring is finally here in Praha… the sun has been peeking out of the clouds and finally smiling down on us about  mid day. The morning air is crisp but the temperature is much warmer. The truth is, I have been complaining about the weather for the past few weeks. This seems to have been the longest winter in Prague- at least that I can remember! At the end of February, when the snow finally melted, I shifted my 1/2 marathon training outdoors. It was cold, and obviously dark in the winter mornings, but it was necessary to do the long runs on the pavement rather than the treadmill. Last week, I ran the Prague 1/2 marathon for the first time. In fact, it is my first time EVER running a race bigger than 10km. It wasn’t easy, but I finished with a time of 2 hours and 11 minutes. I hear that is not bad for a first timer! I felt very good after finishing and then VERY sore the next three days.

put it all in the blender...

put it all in the blender…

No matter what season it is, I like to replenish my muscles after a workout with a healthy smoothie. I put a variety of fruits into these smoothies along with two handfuls of fresh spinach leaves, two scoops of protein powder and two tablespoons of ground flax seed. Together the spinach revives my tired body with iron while the protein and flax add texture and replenish my muscles, not to mention they curb the hunger.

blend it up

blend it up

Lately, I have seen many smoothie recipes on food blogs, in running magazines, and on pintrest that use almonds, oatmeal, protein powder, peanut butter and all sorts of combinations of ingredients to create delicious smoothies. Below are three recipes for smoothies that rotate through my morning routine.

YUM!

YUM!

Note: for smoothie success be open minded and creative with your ingredients… if your smoothie seems too thick just add  a little more liquid (water, soy milk, milk, orange juice…)

Blueberry Iron Woman

ingredients: 1 cup orange juice, 2 handfuls of fresh spinach leaves, 1/2 banana sliced, 1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen), 1 small apple, sliced with the skin removed, 2 scoops of vanilla flavored protein powder and 2 tablespoons ground flax seed

Blend all ingredients in a blender until well combined. Enjoy!

(photographed above)

Good Morning Berries

ingredients: 1 cup orange juice, 1/2 greek yogurt, 1 cup strawberries, 1/4 cup raspberries, 1/4 cup blueberries, 2 handfuls of fresh spinach leaves, 2 scoops protein powder and 2 tablespoons ground flax seed

Blend all ingredients in blender until well combined. Enjoy!

Strawberry Nirvana

(Like the Jamba Juice!)

ingredients: 1 cup strawberries, 1/2 banana, sliced, 1/2 to 3/4 cup mango, 1 cup soy milk, 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, and 2 scoops protein powder

Blend ingredients until well combined. Enjoy!

2 responses

    • Hi Jenny,
      Sorry for the late response. My favorite protein powder, I admit, is from the Trader Joe’s in the US. My mother sends it to me. But I have used a 100% Whey Powder that I purchased at the Vitaland located at the Flora mall. http://www.vitaland.cz/ You can also find 100& Whey powders at sports shops such as Intersport. We hope you find what you need… TPB

Leave a Reply

