Fancy Tomato Toast! By Nikki

early tomatoes

early tomatoes

I found these baby heirloom tomatoes at the Karlin farmer’s market a few weeks ago. It was very surprising to see these colorful gems so early in the season. I thought I would give them a try and boy, am I glad that I did!

Spring dinner... and vino!

Spring dinner… and vino!

I started my indoor herb garden again, and my basil is producing beautifully! It complimented these tomatoes well, both in color and taste. I recently saw a recipe for Tomato-Ricotta Toast. When I was younger, my family used to eat tomato toast for a quick, healthy snack. Plop two slices of bread in the toaster, slice a tomato and when the toast was ready slap on some mayo (I prefer butter!), top with the tomato slices, a little salt and pepper and enjoy! Easy and yummy! Now that I am getting older, (yes, we are in the 30’s here…) I thought I would make my tomato toast a little bit fancy. Adding a bit of ricotta cheese instead of butter or mayo and topping the tomatoes with fresh basil leaves, left my taste buds feeling very delighted… and it is a quick, easy dinner for a busy weekday evening!

Spring dinner

Fancy Tomato Toast- with Basil and Ricotta Cheese!

Fancy Tomato Toast

ingredients: 5-6 small, plum size tomatoes (any color will do!), 4-6 fresh basil leaves, 1/2 cup ricotta cheese mixed with 1/8 tsp garlic salt, 1/8 tsp paprika, fresh bread

Toast your choice of bread. Slice the tomatoes in half. Spread the ricotta on the toast slices. Top with the tomatoes and basil leaves… salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

