Green Goddess Smoothie by Allison

Oh dark leafy greens, how I love to overlook you while I am planning out my meals. Let’s be honest. I’m not a huge fan of eating salad day in and day out. I don’t know about you but my salad kicks tend to come and go in waves. I try to be creative when I concoct a salad for lunch or dinner but sometimes I just want something else! So here’s a fabulous way to get those dark leafy greens in your body along with all of those vitamins and minerals all in a smoothie! This smoothie tastes amazing and can be varied to your preferences too! It is easy. It is healthy. It is delicious. Try it!

IMG_0472

I purchased my spinach from the Karlin farmer’s market, 2 bunches makes 2 huge smoothies.

IMG_0484

I always rinse the spinach twice in cold water and spin it in my salad spinner to get it as dry as possible.
IMG_0486

Just use an ordinary blender. I once thought that one could only make spinach smoothies if they had a top of the line Vitamix blender, but a regular blender will work too!

IMG_0487

The trick is to blend it for 3-5 minutes to get everything as smooth as possible. IMG_0489

Green Goddess Smoothie

Ingredients:

Spinach (2 small bunches)

apple of any variety (1 small of 1/2 large)

the juice from 1/2 large lemon

strawberries (1 cup)

1 1/2 cup water

stevia drops

Directions:

Add all of the ingredients to a blender and blend for 3-5 minutes while giving the blender motor a rest after every minute or so (depending on your blender). Place in refillable bottles and refrigerate. Drink and enjoy as a great snack or as part of a meal! Can use 1/2 a banana instead of strawberries or can use an orange instead of strawberries but it will be thicker in consistency. Try using pear and celery as a unique combination too! Troubleshooting note: If the blender is having a hard time breaking the ingredients down, add more water and that should help! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

