Have Your Carrot Bread and Eat it Too! by L

Whole Wheat Carrot Bread

Whole Wheat Carrot Bread

I have a sweet tooth. I love cakes, cookies and ice cream. I love pies, chocolate and muffins. I love pancakes, waffles and …I think you get the picture. I don’t love getting on the scale and watching the pounds/kilos increase. Fortunately, I have two active and energetic toddlers to help me burn those unwanted calories, and a bunch of healthier recipes to help maintain my appetite for sweets.

P2060513

This recipe comes from one of my mommy friends. If you follow the blog, you may know that I have been trying to create some variety into our breakfast rotation. Little P has long been protesting against the warm and nutritious bowl of oatmeal served first thing in the morning. “No,” she says with authority, as her head and little index finger sway from side to side. I get it. The oatmeal has become boring and tiresome. I quite enjoy my piping hot bowl of porridge in the mornings, but I completely understand. Not everyone can eat this mush, day after day.

Mommy friend, L to the rescue! By chance, we happened to see each other at one of Prague’s many beer gardens ( lucky us!) Like most moms, she came prepared. Inside her “mom” bag were canisters of food, ready to nourish her little ones as soon as their hunger signals appeared. One of these containers housed some bread that snapped up my daughters’ attention. L kindly shared some slices with us. After scarfing down their pieces, they quickly returned for more. Clearly, I had to get this recipe.

L’s version was made with zucchini. This moist whole wheat bread can be eaten for breakfast or as a snack during any part of the day.  It hits the spot when I am craving cake, but doesn’t leave me feeling guilty after every bite.

Whole Wheat Zucchini or Carrot Bread

1 1/2 cups zucchini or carrots, grated.

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup honey or brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup raisins (optional)

1/2 cup nuts (optional)

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Beat together oil and honey, then add eggs, vanilla and zucchini or carrots.

Sift dry ingredients and add to the vegetable mixture.

Add nuts and raisins last, if using.

Bake in a greased loaf pan at 180/350 for 45-60 minutes.

Leave a Reply

