Summer has begun… with eggs and tofu! by Nikki

Herb Tofu, Eggs and Spinach

Herb Tofu, Eggs and Spinach

It is finally summer holiday… if you are a teacher, live with a teacher, are friends with or know a teacher you will understand why this is such a big deal! I saw this e-card last year that said, “Summer vacation- when teachers become human again!” I laughed because it is true. The last day of school is bittersweet. We say goodbye to families who are moving, wish a happy summer to the families who will return, and of course, there is the sweetness of knowing that for 7 weeks the only time I will need to set my alarm clock is if I absolutely have to!!! Summer vacation… it is truly the time when we teachers become human again.

Trying some new recipes is on my list of summer to do’s! I want to share with you a few new dips, a tasty summer salad, and a new dessert based on available summer fruits! And tofu… I have recently grown to love tofu and often use it in place of chicken in many recipes! No, I haven’t gone all vegetarian, but I have been replacing many meat based dishes with tofu or legumes… let’s say I am exploring with eating more naturally!

It is time for me to get back in to the market, explore in my kitchen and share these yummy foods with you… Šťastný letní. (Happy summer!)

herby smoked tofu

golden tofu

Herb-Breaded, Smoked Tofu

ingredients: 1 block of tofu (natural, marinated, or smoked), dried herbs: paprika, oregano, thyme, garlic salt and crushed pepper, 1 cup of organic flour, 2 tablespoons natural frying oil (I used sunflower oil)

directions:

1. slice tofu to preferred thickness

2. lightly pat dry with paper towel

3. in a small bowl combine flour and herbs

4. heat oil in a frying pan

5. place each tofu slice in the flour mixture and fully coat

6. fry each slice of tofu until golden brown on both sides (about 3-5 minutes depending on thickness)

7. serve tofu warm with preferred sides

8. enjoy

Leave a Reply

