Holy Guacamole- it’s finally summertime! by Nikki

It's Guacamole time!

It’s Guacamole time!

When the temperature outdoors turns all summery, I often find myself very fussy about what I want to eat. Nothing big, nothing too hot, nothing too salty… I just need something light or cool and of course, something refreshing! It is not uncommon for me to devour a bowl of popcorn for dinner with a cold, Czech lager. When visiting my parents during the summer months, my mama and I can be found eating a bowl of salsa with tortilla chips… as our weeknight, summertime dinner. The way I see it is that we are adults and we can do what we want, right?!?

perfecto avocado

perfecto avocado

Well, this week, the weather has improved in Praha and the sun is shining. It was imperative that I use my avocados before they went brown. Naturally, I whipped up them up into guacamole. I use a traditional recipe with red onion, de-seeded tomatoes, cilantro and fresh lime. Throw it all into one bowl and mix until it looks and tastes like you want it to taste! I like mine more limey and less salty!

a one bowl job

It’s easy; it’s a one bowl job!

Guacamole is a super-food that I think makes other foods taste so much better… top your burgers with a heaping scoop, enjoy it on your summer tacos, or dip those salty, tortilla chips into a bowl of this healthy, green stuff and just enjoy it solo! You’re an adult, you can do what you want, right!?!

Traditional Guacamole

Holy Guacamole, that’s yummy!

 Guacamole

ingredients: 2 ripe, avocados + 1/2 medium red onion, diced + 4-5 red cherry tomatoes, de-seeded and chopped +1 to 2 tablespoons, fresh, chopped, cilantro (coriander) + 1/2 fresh lime + salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Halve avocados, remove the pit and scoop into a medium bowl. Mash well, with a fork.

2. Add tomatoes, onion, and cilantro. Gently fold ingredients together.

3. Mix in lime juice, salt and pepper.

4. Add more lime juice, salt and pepper to taste.

5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

