GF and Fabulous Jalapeno Bites with a Sweet and Spicy Dip by Allison

Well let me tell you first off that I don’t have a picture of the final product unfortunately, these yummy bite-sized delights just disappeared too fast for me to even grab my camera! True story! This recipe all started when my Mom and I stopped at a bistro after a day of running errands for a bite to eat in the early afternoon. It all started with the Jalapeno bites and they were good, but we both decided we could make them even better! So we tried it out and I’ve made them many times for friends since the summer and they are always a big hit. I roast the halved jalapenos at 175 degrees Celsius for about 10-12 minutes, then I take them out of the oven and place a thick chunk of sharp white cheese down the center and wrap it with 1/2 a slice of gluten-free prosciutto. Then pop them back in a slightly cooler oven (130 degrees Celsius) oven for 8-10 more minutes until cheese begins to melt and prosciutto begins to crisp up a bit. You can make the dip while the jalapenos are roasting the first time!

jalapenos

jalapenos, sliced in half and deseeded (however many you’d like, I usually like to roast at least 10-12)

sharp white cheese

gluten-free prosciutto (can be found at Tesco in the packaged meat section)

For the Sweet and Spicy Dip

adapted from food.com

Ingredients:

1/3 cup  Hellmann’s light mayonnaise

2 Tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

2 tsp honey, warmed slightly

jalapenos (however many you’d like, I usually like to roast at least 10-12)

sharp white cheese

dip

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

