Fresh Vegetable Stock by Nikki

it smells sooooo good

it smells sooooo good

Here I go again, sharing my homemade stock creations with you! But I just have to because this one was given the A+ by my good friend MM. You see, I have a number of friends who are vegetarians. I love these people so much that when it was time to host a second Thanksgiving dinner at my flat, I made a fresh vegetable stock to use in place of chicken stock in the Thanksgiving stuffing. Changing the stock to accommodate my friends was no big deal, and I know I didn’t have to do this for them, but I am so thankful for their love and support that it was my pleasure to experiment with this recipe. Here is a little secret for you, I made up the recipe as I went along. So for the first time, I will post this as my own recipe… although I am sure there are plenty of other veggie stock recipes out there with the same or at least similar methods and ingredients!

You can use this stock as a vegetarian base for your favorite soup and as a substitute for meat stocks in other recipes.  But unlike making your own meat based stocks, you can use the leftover veggies! Yep, this is a WHOLE food recipe- no wasting! After removing the bay leaves from the mix, I pureed the veggies in my food processor. After this cooled, I froze this thick vegetable puree to use in a quiche or stew later this winter… If this was a Facebook post I would end it with… feeling accomplished!  Give it a try and enjoy!

fresh veggies

fresh veggies

Vegetarian Stock

(This recipe is all mine!)

ingredients: 8 carrots, 1 bunch of celery stalks, 2 red onions, 2 white onions, 1 bunch of fresh parsley, 5 bay leaves, 1 tablespoon ground cumin, 1 tablespoon dried sage    optional: fresh peppers, potato, and/or parsnip

directions: Chop all vegetables and throw into a large soup pot with 4-5 cups of water. Add spices and bring to a boil.  Turn heat to medium low and let the stock bubble gently for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally. Strain stock through a sieve into a different large soup pot (for immediate use) or large bowl for cooling.

Note: Stock should stay fresh in for one week in the fridge and also freezes well in ice cube trays!

cook for 2-3 hours

cook for 2-3 hours

 

 

Leave a Reply

