Fish Tacos by Nikki

Fish Tacos

Fish Tacos

I looooooove tacos! Real corn tortillas, freshly cooked fillings, topped with pico de gallo and avocado- this is what I call a fresh dinner. The few times I have been to Mexico the best part has always been the food. Mole made in an authentic Mexican kitchen is like nothing I have ever tasted, but it is the taco stands that are my favorite!  They grill the meat right in front of you, fill a small corn tortilla with your choice of meat and top it simply with fresh, chopped white onion and cilantro. Just writing about it is making my mouth water!

Well, I am not currently in Mexico. In fact it has been a number of years since I have been south of the US border. But as Spring has sprung in here in the Czech Republic, it is time to trade in most of the winter food recipes for simple Spring mouthfuls of tacos! Well, recently, I made fish tacos. Of course, I prefer to use fresh fish, but this recipe is also perfect for using up that white fish that has lingered in your freezer for the winter months. In the Czech republic, they sell mainly Talapia and Pangasius in the freezer section at your local Albert or Billa. However, neither of those fish interest me. I prefer Sole or Cod that I buy frozen at Marks & Spencers. The bag I purchase has 5 single, serving pieces. It is easy to defrost in cold water on the night you will use them or overnight in the fridge. Doctored up with fresh dill and lemon, they taste great- perfect for fish tacos.

This is an easy recipe that you can enjoy on a weeknight. I often serve these tacos with a fresh, green salad, or chips and salsa! And don’t forget the cold beer… enjoy!

 

 Fish Tacos

ingredients: 2 pieces of white fish (if frozen, thaw completely before cooking), fresh dill, 2 fresh lemon or lime slices, 1 tomato, 1/2 small white onion, two slices of ripe avocado, your favorite hot sauce and small, corn tortillas

Serves 2

Directions:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C or 350 degrees F

1.Place enough tinfoil to wrap fish pieces in the bottom of a small baking dish.

2. Place fish on tinfoil. Sprinkle on fresh dill, salt and pepper and lay citrus slices on fish pieces.

3. Wrap tinfoil around the fish. (This keeps the steam inside and helps to keep your fish from drying out in the oven.)

4. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

5. While fish is baking, prepare your toppings! Dice onion and tomato, set aside. Slice avocado, set aside.

6. In a small frying pan, heat the tortillas, flipping them multiple times to keep from burning.

7. When fish is ready, divide the fish among your tortillas. Top with tomato, onion, and avocado. Dash your favorite hot sauce on top and ENJOY!

Leave a comment