My Mama’s EGG-cellent Omelette by L

Guess how many eggs I brought home from the farmers’ market? When I lived in the US, my eggs always came in a dozen and that’s what I asked for at the farmer’s stall in the Andel Market. The vendor politely told me that  I had two choices. I could choose between the magic numbers of 10 or 15.  I took 15 .

I have been truly blessed. Raising two infants is not an easy task and fortunately my mother and in-laws have taken turns giving up their lives in NY and Spain to come and help me care for our children.  There is even more magic in all this, both my mother and mother-in-law are excellent cooks. And since the birth of my daughters, I happily turned over the reigns of my kitchen to their hands and enjoyed their delicious home cooked meals.

With 15 eggs,  the possibilities are endless, so on this particular Friday, I asked my mom to make “her” omelette, which in our Filipino household is called: “torta.” I grew up on this simple meal composed of eggs, tomatoes, onions and garlic.  Sometimes, I ate it stuffed between two slices of white bread and a dollop of ketchup for   lunch when I was in elementary school and other times, it was served with garlic fried rice for breakfast.

Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:

4 eggs

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 tomato, chopped

Heat 2 Tablespoons of oil. Then fry the garlic until golden brown and then add the onions and tomatoes. While that is cooking,  place the four eggs in a bowl and beat. When the garlic/onion/tomato combination is completely cooked through, add it to the eggs and mix well. Then return the entire mixture to the pan. When you think the bottom side is cooked, flip it over. When both sides are done, enjoy with some bread or the good old Filipino way, with some garlic friend rice on the side. In my case, it was that and a tofu sausage!

Leave a comment